• Homepage
  • News
  • 40th Uovo d’Oro Lauretana – France and Spain among the foreign clubs

40th Uovo d'Oro Lauretana
France and Spain among the foreign clubs

03 April 2023

This year the 40th edition of the Uovo d’Oro signed for the first time by the prestigious partner Lauretana will be celebrated on Easter Monday. The appointment is in Sestriere on Monday, April 10, the last opening day of the Vialattea lifts.

It’s a big birthday for the traditional Easter event, and many young skiers are expected to arrive from all over Italy and even from abroad in order to blow out the 40 candles. In the past editions more than 1,500 athletes have competed each year to win for the famous trophy. Representatives from France and Spain will take part in the competition too.

Th 4oth edition will be competed on the Olympic slopes of Sestriere and multiple tracks will be set up to best meet the different needs of the various categories competing. The start of the first competitors is scheduled at 9 a.m. and at the end of the race, as per tradition, all participants will receive the traditional chocolate egg. In the finish parterre, where the various race tracks converge, a sponsor village will be set up, hosting stands of prestigious companies that will entertain the public and competitors.
The cheerful parade of all the Ski Clubs through the streets of Sestriere will be held in the afternoon. Starting at 1:30 p.m. each Ski Club will collect its identification sign and at 2:00 p.m. the parade will begin.

At 2:30 p.m., in Piazza Fraiteve the awards ceremony and drawing of fantastic prizes for athletes, coaches and Ski Clubs will take place. The top 10 finishers in each category, in addition to the classic cup, will win the Rossignol windstopper and the first place winners will win a Bollé helmet, both customized for the event.  The luckiest ones who will be drawn at random will be able to win a wonderful trip offered by Vialattea, sport equipments, technological and leisure items, gasoline vouchers and many other surprise prizes!
The first-place Ski Club, in addition to the classic trophy, will be able to celebrate its victory with a giant hand-decorated chocolate egg. The ski club to beat is Sansicario, which won the trophy in the previous edition.

Registration closes Thursday, April 6, at 2 p.m.